Latvia in European Union

About Latvia >> Latvia in European Union

According to report “Doing business 2009” of The World Bank, Latvia among 181 world states is in place 29 in list of most favourable states for entrepreneurship.

People’s Council of Latvia proclaimed independence of the new country in Riga on November 18, 1918. Since that Latvia was independent country. On February 1922 was adopted constitution (Satversme) of Republic of Latvia. On 1940 Latvia was occupied by Soviet Union until 1991 when Latvia restored full independence.

Latvia became a member of the United Nations on September 1991, and is a signatory to a number of UN organizations and other international agreements, including Council of Europe, CERCO, International Council for the Exploration of the Sea, International Civil Aviation Organization, International Atomic Energy Agency, UNESCO, UNICEF, International Criminal Court, the World Bank, International Monetary Fund, and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

Latvia is joined to European Union since May 2004 and Latvia is also member of NATO since March 2004.

Latvia have embassies in Argentina, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Canada, the People’s Republic of China, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, South Africa, Sweden, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Uzbekistan.

On December 21, 2007 Schengen border-free zone was once more enlarged to include nine new nations. Now Latvia is one of Schengen countries. Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. United Kingdom and Ireland are not included in Schengen zone.

Please feel free to contact us if you would like to get more information
Tel. (371) 29 112 333